Browsing named entities in The Daily Dispatch: July 22, 1861.., [Electronic resource]. You can also browse the collection for July 20th, 1861 AD or search for July 20th, 1861 AD in all documents.

Your search returned 2 results in 2 document sections:

ose, until they have made good to the uttermost their right to self-government; the generous and almost unquestioning confidence which they display in their Government during the pending struggle, all combine to present a spectacle such as the world has rarely, if ever, seen. To speak of subjugating such a people, so united and determined, is to speak in a language incomprehensible to them. To resist attacks on their rights or their liberties is with them an instinct. Whether this war shall last one, or three, or five years, is a problem they leave to be solved by the enemy alone; it will last till the enemy shall have withdrawn from their borders — till their political rights, their altars and their homes are freed from invasion. Then, and then only, will they rest from this struggle, to enjoy in peace the blessings which, with the favor of Providence, they have secured by the aid of their own strong hearts and sturdy arms. Jefferson Davis. Richmond, July 20, 1861.
First Congressof theConfederate States of America.(adjourned session) Richmond, July 20, 1861. Congress met in the Hall of the House of Delegates at the Capitol, at 12 o'clock M. Hon. Howell Cobb, in the Chair, called the Assembly to order. The Rev. Dr. S. K. Talmadge, of Georgia, then offered up an affecting prayer. By direction of the President, the roll of the Confederate States was called alphabetically, and the following named members were ascertained to be present: From Alabama.--R. H. Smith, J. L. M. Curry, Nich. P. Davis and H. C. Jones. From Arkansas.--Robert W. Johnson, H. F. Thomasson, A. H. Garland and W. W. Watkins. From Florida.--None. From Georgia.--Robert Toombs, Howell Cobb, Eugenius A. Nisbet, Benjamin H. Hill, A. R. Wright and Augustus H. Kenan. From Louisiana--John Perkins, Jr., A. DeClout, Charles M. Conrad, D. S. Kenner and Henry Marshall. From Mississippi.--Wiley P. Harris, Walker Brook and J. T. Harrison.