hide Matching Documents

The documents where this entity occurs most often are shown below. Click on a document to open it.

Document Max. Freq Min. Freq
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing) 20 2 Browse Search
View all matching documents...

Your search returned 20 results in 4 document sections:

Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing), Arthur, Chester Alan, 1830-1886 (search)
Arthur, Chester Alan, 1830-1886 Twenty-first President of the United States, from Sept. 19, 1881, to March 4, 1885; Republican; born in Fairfield, Vt., Oct. 5, 1830; was graduated at Union College in 1848; studied law, was admitted to the bar ine admission of colored persons to the street-cars of New York City by gaining a suit against a railway company in 1856. Mr. Arthur did efficient service during the Civil War as quartermaster-general of the State of New York. In 1872 he was appointedecame President. He died in New York City, Nov. 18, 1886. Veto of Chinese immigration bill. On April 4, 1882, President Arthur sent the following veto message to the Senate: To the Senate,--After a careful consideration of Senate Bill No. ing the act herewith returned, which was handed to the Secretary of State by the Chinese minister in Washington. Chester A. Arthur. Executive mansion, Washington, April 4, 1882. the memorandum. 1. The time fixed in the bill, namely, twenty
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing), Presidential elections. (search)
2John M. PalmerIll.Dem3 David DavisIll.Ind.1T. E. BramletteKyDem3 W. S. GroesbeckO.Dem1 Willis B. MachenKyDem1 N. P. BanksMass.Lib1 1876. Samuel J. TildenN. Y.Dem4,284,885250,235184T. A. HendricksInd.Dem184 Rutherford B. Hayes*O.Rep4,033,950(h) 185William A. Wheeler*N. Y.Rep185 Peter CooperN. Y.Gre'nb81,740Samuel F. CaryO.Gre'nb Green Clay SmithKyPro.9,522Gideon T. StewartO.Pro James B. WalkerIll.Amer2,636D. KirkpatrickN. Y.Amer 1880. James A. Garfield*O.Rep4,449,0537,018214Chester A. Arthur*N. Y.Rep214 W. S. HancockPa.Dem4,442,035155William H. EnglishInd.Dem155 James B. WeaverIowaGre'nb307,306B. J. ChambersTexGre'nb Neal DowMe.Pro10,305H. A. ThompsonO.Pro John W. PhelpsVt.Amer707S. C. PomeroyKanAmer 1884. Grover Cleveland*O.Dem4,911,01762,683219T. A. Hendricks*Ind.Dem219 James G. BlaineMe.Rep4,848,334182John A. LoganIll.Rep182 John P. St. JohnKanPro151,809William DanielMdPro Benjamin F. ButlerMass.Peop133,825A. M. WestMissPeop P. D. WiggintonCalAmer 1888. Grov
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing), United States of America. (search)
G. Blaine2842822755742 John Sherman9394107993 Garfield nominated for President, and Gen. Chester A. Arthur, of New York, on the first ballot, for Vice-President,......June 7, 1880 Congress ap Forty-sixth Congress adjourns......March 3, 1881 Special session of Senate convenes, Chester A. Arthur presiding......March 4, 1881 James A. Garfield inaugurated President......March 4, 1881ion—Republican, March 4, 1881, to March 3, 1885. James A. Garfield, Ohio, President. Chester A. Arthur, New York, Vice-President. Postmaster-General James presents to President the protest odates, James G. Blaine receives on the first ballot 334 1/2 votes, and on the fourth, 541; Chester A. Arthur on the first, 278, on the fourth, 207; the votes necessary to a choice being 411, the nomiartholdi statue dedication given at the White House, Washington......Nov. 4, 1886 Ex-President Chester A. Arthur, born 1830, dies at New York......Nov. 18, 1886 Charles Francis Adams, Sr., born
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing), Vice-Presidents of the United States (search)
Vice-Presidents of the United States They preside in the Senate, and on the death, resignation, or disability of the President, succeed him. Five Vice-Presidents have in this way become Presidents: John Tyler, succeeding William Henry Harrison, who died April 4, 1841; Millard Fillmore, succeeding Zachary Taylor, who died July 9, 1850; Andrew Johnson, succeeding Abraham Lincoln, who died April 15, 1865; Chester A. Arthur, succeeding James A. Garfield, who died Oct. 19, 1881; and Theodore Roosevelt, succeeding William McKinley, who died Sept. 14, 1901.