Your search returned 6 results in 4 document sections:

orth Carolina Volunteers, and an election of field officers has taken place, resulting in the selection of D. H. Hill, C. C. Lee, and J. H. Lane, respectively, to the offices of Colonel, Lieutenant-Colonel, and Major.--Charleston Mercury, May 11. The Twenty-eighth New York Regiment (from Brooklyn) arrived at Washington by the steamer Star of the South. In the absence of Col. Bennett, detained at home by sickness, Lieut.-Col. E. Burns is in command. The other officers are Acting Lieut.-Col. W. R. Brewster; Adjutant, D. A. Bokee; Surgeon, P. B. Rice; Surgeon's Mates, Drs. Rappold and Prentice; Captain of Engineer Corps, Von Kumeke; Quartermaster, F. Steigier; Assistant Quartermaster, C. Menseh; Acting Paymaster, W. Mavelle; Chaplain, Mr. Zapt. They number about six hundred men, divided into ten companies, commanded by Captains Brewer, Baker, Campbell, Brandenberry, Beadle, Seeper, Ruegor, Wills, Kuhl, and Weaver.--National Intelligencer, May 7. Brigadier-General Philip St.
Benson J. Lossing, Pictorial Field Book of the Civil War. Volume 3., Chapter 10: the last invasion of Missouri.--events in East Tennessee.--preparations for the advance of the Army of the Potomac. (search)
rps to three, named the Second, Fifth, and Sixth. These were respectively, in the order named, placed under the commands of Generals Hancock, Warren, and Sedgwick. Hancock's (Second) corps consisted of four divisions, commanded respectively by Generals F. C. Barlow, J. Gibbon, D. B. Birney. and J. B. Carr. His brigade commanders were Generals A. S. Webb, J. P. Owen, J. H. Ward, A. Hayes, and G. Mott: and Colonels N. A. Miles, T. A. Smythe, R. Frank, J. R. Brooke, S. S. Carroll, and W. R. Brewster. Colonel J. C. Tidball was chief of artillery, and Lieutenant-Colonel C. H. Morgan was chief of staff. Warren's (Fifth) corps consisted of four divisions, commanded respectively by Generals C. Griffin, J. C. Robinson, S. W. Crawford, and J. S. Wadsworth. The brigade commanders were Generals J. Barnes, J. J. Bartlett, R. B. Ayres. H. Baxter, L. Cutler, and J. C. Rice; and Colonels Leonard, Dennison, W. McCandless, J. W. Fisher, and Roy Stone. Lieutenant-Colonel H. C. Bankhead, chief o
hn R., Mar. 13, 1865. Bonham, Edw., Mar. 13, 1865. Boughton, H., Mar. 11, 1865. Bouton, Edw., Feb. 28, 1865. Bowen, T. M., Feb. 13, 1865. Bowerman, R. N., April 1, 1865. Bowie, Geo. W., Mar. 13, 1865. Bowman, S. M., Mar. 13, 1865. Bowyer, Eli, Mar. 13, 1865. Boyd, Joseph F., Mar. 13, 1865. Boynton, H. V. N., Mar. 13, 1865. Boynton, H., Mar. 13, 1865. Bradshaw, R. C., Mar. 13, 1865. Brady, T. J., Mar. 13, 1865. Brailey, M. R., Mar. 13, 1865. Brayton, C. R., Mar. 13, 1865. Brewster, W. R., Dec. 2, 1864. Brinkerhoff, R., Sept. 20, 1865. Briscoe, Jas. C., Mar. 13, 1865. Broadhead, T. F., Aug. 30, 1862. Bronson, S., Sept. 28, 1865. Browne, T. M., Mar. 13, 1865. Browne, W. H., Mar. 13, 1865. Brown, C. E., Mar. 13, 1865. Brown, H. L., Sept. 3, 1864. Brown, J. M., Mar. 13, 1865. Brown, L. G., Mar. 13, 1865. Brown, O., Jan. 6, 1866. Brown, P. P., Mar. 13, 1865. Brown, S. B., Jr. , Mar. 13, 1865. Brown, S. L., Mar. 13, 1865. Brown, T. F., Mar. 13, 1865. Brown, Wm
William Swinton, Campaigns of the Army of the Potomac, chapter 11 (search)
igade, Colonel R. Frank. Fourth Brigade, Colonel J. R. Brooke. Second Division, Brigadier-General John Gibbon. First Brigade, Brigadier-General A. S. Webb. Second Brigade, Brigadier-General J. P. Owens. Third Brigade, Colonel S. S. Carroll. Third Division, Major-General D. B. Birney. First Brigade, Brigadier-General J. H. Ward. Second Brigade, Brigadier-General A. Hays. Fourth Division, Brigadier-General J. B. Carr. First Brigade, Brigadier-General G. Mott. Second Brigade, Colonel W. R. Brewster. Inspector-General and Chief of Staff, Lieutenant-Colonel C. H. Morgan Chief of Artillery, Colonel J. C. Tidball. Sixth Corps. First Division, Brigadier-General H. G. Wright. First Brigade, Brigadier-General A. T. A. Torbert. Second Brigade, Colonel E. Upton. Third Brigade, Colonel H. Burnham. Fourth Brigade, Brigadier-General A. Shaler. Second Division, Brigadier-General G. W. Getty. First Brigade, Brigadier-General F. Wheaton. Second Brigade, Colonel L. A. Grant. Th