Your search returned 5 results in 3 document sections:

Benson J. Lossing, Pictorial Field Book of the Civil War. Volume 1., Chapter 10: Peace movements.--Convention of conspirators at Montgomery. (search)
Maine.--William P. Fessenden, Lott M. Morrill, Daniel E. Somes, John J. Perry, Ezra B. French, Freeman H. Morse, Stephen Coburn, Stephen C. Foster. New Hampshire.--Amos Tuck, Levi Chamberlain, Asa Fowler. Vermont.--Hiland Hall, Lucius E. Chittenden, Levi Underwood, H. Henry Baxter, B. D. Harris. Massachusetts.--John Z. Goodrich, Charles Allen, George S. Boutwell, Theophilus P. Chandler, Francis B. Crowninshield, John M. Forbes, Richard P. Waters. Rhode Island.--Samuel Ames, Alexander Duncan, William W. Hoppin, George H. Browne, Samuel G. Arnold. Connecticut.--Roger S. Baldwin, Chauncey F. Cleveland, Charles J. McCurdy, James T. Pratt, Robins Battell, Amos S. Treat. New York.--David Dudley Field, William Curtis Noyes, James S. Wadsworth, James C. Smith, Amaziah B. James, Erastus Corning, Francis Granger, Greene C. Bronson, William E. Dodge, John A. King, John E. Wool. New Jersey.--Charles S. Olden, Peter D. Vroom, Robert F. Stockton, Benjamin Williamson, Joseph F.
he Virginia men's fighting. David Homer Bates records that when Early descended on Washington a scout reported to General Hardin at Fort Stevens: The enemy are preparing to make a grand assault on this Fort to-night. They are tearing down fences and are moving to the right, their bands playing. Can't you hurry up the Sixth Corps? Many of the regiments raised among men of wealth and culture in the larger cities of the Confederacy were splendidly equipped at the outset of the war. Captain Alexander Duncan of the Georgia Hussars, of Savannah, is authority for the statement that the regiment spent $26,000 on its initial outfit. He also adds that at the close of the war the uniforms of this company would have brought about twenty-five cents. upon them to furnish their quota of troops to coerce the seceded States back into the Union. Even the strongest Federalists, like Hamilton, had, in the discussions in the Constitutional Convention, utterly repudiated and condemned the coercion of
Erastus Brooks, Joseph Schleigman, Schuyler Livingston W. H. Osborn, A. A. Vanderpoel, W. W. De Forrest, A. B. Baylis, Elnathan Thorne, W. B. Maclay, Fred. Kapp, Anson Herrick, Theodore Fowler, Daniel Leroy, S. L. Mitchill, Augustus Schell, Chas. Christmas, J B. Varnum, Wm. Hall, Chas. A. Secor, John T. Hoffman, Hamilton Fish, Luther Bradish, Fernando Wood, A. T. Stewart, Morris Ketchum, Jonathan Sturges, J. J. Astor, John Cochran, Alex. Duncan. Secretaries. J. Smith Homans, John Bigelow, John T. Johnston, Sheppard Gandy, D. D. Lord, C. H. Marshall, Jr., Jas. G. De Forest, George A. Vogel, Fletcher Westray, Charles B. Norton, Speech of the Hon. John A. Dix. On taking the chair, the President said:-- Fellow-Citizens:--We have come together to express our determination to uphold the authority of the Government and to maintain inviolate the honor of the country. The circumstances under which we are a