et was the gambrel-roofed house lately owned by Mrs. Thomas B. Dill, and a similar one on the other corner of Fulton street occupied and owned by Mr. Richard Tufts and his sisters.
Mr. Tufts had a little wheelwright's shop back of his house facing Fulton street. The family had lived on Main street, where the Central Fire Station stands, but were burned out in the great fire of 1850 and never rebuilt.
The house at the corner of Court street is a landmark, occupied for many years by Mr. Francis Ewell.
The present engine house occupies the site of the Osgood School, which was moved to Wellington.
The grocery store at the corner of Park street is little changed since the days when Lewis H. Washburn was its proprietor.
Just opposite the head of Almont street, removed to build Otis street, was the most unique house in Medford, for it deliberately turned its back on the street and faced the sun. It had a lean — to on the street side and a pigpen in full view of the passer-by.