hide Matching Documents

The documents where this entity occurs most often are shown below. Click on a document to open it.

Document Max. Freq Min. Freq
Lucius R. Paige, History of Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1630-1877, with a genealogical register 14 2 Browse Search
View all matching documents...

Your search returned 14 results in 4 document sections:

Lucius R. Paige, History of Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1630-1877, with a genealogical register, Chapter 16: ecclesiastical History. (search)
was born at Wilton, N. H., Nov. 23, 1800, and ordained here March 5, 1828. He resigned June 6, 1829, and after preaching for short periods in several places, and laboring abundantly in the cause of education, died in Salem, June 6, 1866. Rev. James D. Green, H. C. 1817, born in Malden, Sept. 8, 1798, was ordained at Lynn, Nov. 3, 1828, and installed here Jan. 6, 1830. He resigned the pastorate April 21, 1840, and soon afterwards retired from the ministry. Like other ex-pastors in Cambridge,y vested in me by a vote of the City Council, passed Sept. 22, 1846, I hereby gran: the use of the lower room in the school-house in the north district of Ward One, for the purpose of holding By the a Sabbath School, until otherwise ordered. James D. Green, Mayor. but in 1852 this privilege was suddenly and unceremoniously withdrawn by the School Committee. Cambridge, Sunday, July 18, 1852. To the members of the Sabbath School held in the Winthrop school-house: I am directed to inform you th
er of children between the ages of three and seventeen years, and the duration of the schools in each of the five districts before described,—12 months of school taught by a female being reckoned as equivalent to 4 4/5 months of a master's school. District.Valuation.No. of Children.Months. 11,290,24535016 4/5 2141,340805 3630,39536216 4/5 4359,53529816 5725,66255716 4/5 An entirely new system Concerning this change from the district system to that of regular gradation, Hon. James D. Green, in his Inaugural Address, as Mayor of the City, in 1853, says: I claim for the town of Cambridge the honor of having introduced it into this Commonwealth, and of having carried it to the greatest degree of completeness. was adopted Oct. 6, 1834, when the town voted to abolish the five school districts, or to merge them into three Wards, namely, the first and second districts into Ward One; the third and fourth into Ward Two; and the fifth into Ward Three. The schools were graded, an
amination of the Adjutantgeneral's Reports, supplemented by personal inquiry, and an inspection of the names on the Soldiers' Monument in Cambridge. Brigadier-Generals. Henry L. Eustis. Charles Russell Lowell. Brevet Brigadier-Generals. Samuel E. Chamberlain. Charles F. Walcott. Colonels. P. Stearns Davis. Norwood P. Hallowell. Albert Ordway. Edmund Rice. Brevet Colonel. James B. Smith. Lieutenant-Colonels . William W. Bullock. Jeremiah W. Coveney. J. Durell Green. William H. Lounsbury. George A. Meacham. David P. Muzzey. James P. Richardson. Samuel W. Richardson. Albert Stickney. Majors. Ezra P. Gould. C. Frederick Livermore. Charles C. Parsons. Henry L. Patten. John T. Richards. Atherton H. Stevens, Jr. To Major Stevens was allotted the privilege of conferring special honor on Cambridge. On the morning of April 3, 1865, he received from the Mayor of Richmond a formal surrender of the city, led his squadron within the walls,
1836, 1837. Abraham Edwards, 1836. Enos Reed, 1837. Ezekiel Hayden, 1839, 1840, 1844. Joel Giles, 1840. James D. Green, 1841-1843, 1846, 1853, 1854. Sylvanus Plympton, 1842, 1843. John Sargent, 1844-1848. John S. Ladd, 1845-1847,. Stephen T. Farwell, 1844. William Wyman, 1844, 1845. Josiah Burrage, Jr., 1844, 1845. Jonas Wyeth, 1844. James D. Green, 1845. Alex. H. Ramsay, 1845. Charles Wood, 1845. Assessors. the Selectmen performed the duty of Assessors, Levi Farwell, 1821-1836. Abel W. Bruce, 1837-1846. Officers after the incorporation of the City. Mayors. James D. Green, 1846, 1847, 1853, 1860, 1861. Sidney Willard, 1848-1850. George Stevens, 1851, 1852. Abraham Edwards, 1854. Zebina L. Raymond, 1855, 1864. John Sargent, 1856-1859. Charles T. Russell, Elected July 31, 1861, in place of James D. Green, resigned. 1861, 1862. George C. Richardson, 1863. J. Warren Merrill, 1865, 1866. Ezra Parmenter, 1867. Charl