hide Matching Documents

The documents where this entity occurs most often are shown below. Click on a document to open it.

Document Max. Freq Min. Freq
Col. O. M. Roberts, Confederate Military History, a library of Confederate States Military History: Volume 11.1, Texas (ed. Clement Anselm Evans) 2 0 Browse Search
Robert Underwood Johnson, Clarence Clough Buell, Battles and Leaders of the Civil War: Volume 2. 1 1 Browse Search
View all matching documents...

Your search returned 3 results in 2 document sections:

Robert Underwood Johnson, Clarence Clough Buell, Battles and Leaders of the Civil War: Volume 2., The Confederate invasion of New Mexico and Arizona. (search)
I., p. 33; also map on p. 8 of that volume.--Editors. of Captain John R. Baylor culminated on his reaching El Paso (Franklin), Texas, on the border of New Mexico, in the first week in July, 1861, with about three hundred men of his regiment, the 2d Texas Mounted Rifles, C. S. A., and occupying Fort Bliss, across the river, which had been abandoned by the regular troops. He was warmly welcomed by the few secessionists in that neighborhood, prominent among whom were Colonel B. Magoffin, Judge Simeon Hart, and Judge Cavalry orderly. From a photograph. J. F. Crosby, who were the wealthiest persons in that vicinity. On the 23d of July Captain Baylor, with about two hundred and fifty men, advanced up the Rio Grande, crossing to the west side of the river at San Tomas, and proceeding to La Mesilla. On the afternoon of the 25th Major Isaac Lynde, 7th U. S. Infantry, who was in command at Fort Fillmore, a post about four miles distant from Mesilla, proceeded against the rebels with a
gned by the members of the convention and published. On February 4th a resolution was passed for the election by the convention of seven delegates to the convention of Southern States at Montgomery. Those chosen were John H. Reagan, Louis T. Wigfall, John Hemphill, T. N. Waul, John Gregg, W. S. Oldham and Wm. B. Ochiltree. An ordinance was passed to secure the friendship and co-operation of Arizona and New Mexico, also of the Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, Seminole and Cherokee Indians. Simeon Hart and P. T. Herbert were sent to the two territories, and James Bourland and Chas. A. Hamilton to the Indian tribes, as commissioners. At the request of the president a vice-president was ordered to be appointed, and John D. Steele, of Leon county, was thus honored. On February 5th the convention adjourned temporarily, to meet again on the 2d of March. The president issued an address to the people, stating what had been done by the convention and the legislature, and that Louisiana, M