hide Matching Documents

Your search returned 6 results in 3 document sections:

A bout 11 o'clock, on Monday night last, a fire broke out in the upper story of the old-wooden tenement on 9th street, near the corner of Broad. The building was owned by the Hon. James Lyons, and for a number of years has been used as offices for several of the legal fraternity of this city.--In the third story some of the Congressional and Legislative committees held their meetings, while the first and second stories were used respectively by Hon. James Lyons, Judge William H. Lyons; Blackburn Hughes and Littleton Tazewell, Esqs, as law offices. This house was considered one of the oldest in that section of the city, and for forty years has been occupied by some of the most distinguished lawyers of the times — among whom we will name Judges Roane and Washington, and, it is said that great orator Patrick Henry. The property was insured in the Mutual Insurance Company, and sustained about $1,500 worth of damage. The roof was the only portion destroyed by fire, although the damage t
general interest brought before the meeting, the President announced the following standing committees for the ensuing year: Library and Rooms — P. C. Nicholas, chairman; Dr. W. H. Gwathmey, Philip F Howard. Lectures — D B Lucas, chairman; J C Williams, Bev. Weliford, Jr. Publications — George L Bid good, chairman; W B Robina, S B Smith. Ways and Means — Wm Willis, Jr, chairman; Jas Menry, Robt Lancaster, Jr. Nominations — J B Watkins, chairman, B H Mrade, Ro E Richardson, Chas E McClare, Wm H Tyler, Bible Classes — J M Stevens, chairman; Wm B Johnson, Roger Martin. Religions Exercises — J D K Sleight, chairman; W B Bigelow, A P Fox. Sunday Schools--Dr. J Hall Moors, chairman; Dr. George B Steels, C C Calvert. Visiting the Sick — Blackburn Hughes, chairman; Alex McRae, Albert Blair. Statistics — W H Clemmitt, chairman; P J Wright, T C C Drewry. The Army Committee for the ensuing year consists of the following named gentlemen: Wm P Munford, chairman; J B Walk
William Bell, Threctors. the Directory were requested to consider the various subjects proposed for action, and report to a called meeting of the Committee. the following gentlemen compose the Relief Committee. H. E. C. Baskerville, William Bell, Dr. C. G. Barney, Wm. H. Clemmitt, Robert J. Christian, Lewis D. Crenshaw, J. R. Chamberlayne, W. H. Denerson, Dr. G. H. Ellerson, Thomas H. Ellis, Dr. Wm. H. Gwathmey, George Gibson, P. H. Gibson, James Gordon, Blackburn Hughes, Abner F. Harvey, Samuel J. Harrison, Judge Wm. H. Lyons, J. L. Maury, Wm. P. Munford, Thomas W. McCance, P. Cary Nicholas, Samuel M. Price, Wm. H. Pleasants, J. D. K. Sleight, John Randolph Tucker, Asa Snyder, David T. Williams, Joel B. Watkins, Wm. Willis, Jr. A meeting of the committee will be held at 5 o'clock this afternoon, at the office of the James River and Kanawha Company, for the purpose of receiving a report from the Directory.