hide Matching Documents

The documents where this entity occurs most often are shown below. Click on a document to open it.

Document Max. Freq Min. Freq
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing) 14 0 Browse Search
Brigadier-General Ellison Capers, Confederate Military History, a library of Confederate States Military History: Volume 5, South Carolina (ed. Clement Anselm Evans) 3 1 Browse Search
View all matching documents...

Your search returned 17 results in 4 document sections:

Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing), Louisiana, (search)
Derbigny1828 to 1829 A. Beauvwis 1829 to 1830 Jacques Dupre1830 to 1831 Andre B. Roman1831 to 1834 Edward D. White1834 to 1838 Andre B. Roman1838 to 1841 Alexander Mouton1841 to 1845 Isaac Johnson1845 to 1850 Joseph Walker1850 to 1854 Paul O. Hebert1854 to 1858 Robert C. Wickliffe1858 to 1860 Thomas O. Moore1860 to 1863 Michael Hahn1864 Henry F. Allen1864 James M. Wells1864 to 1867 B. F. Flanders1867 to 1868 Henry C. Warmouth1868 to 1872 William Pitt Kellogg1872 to 1877 John McEnery1872 to 1877 Francis T. Nicholls1877 to 1880 Louis Alfred Wiltz 1880 to 1881 Samuel D. McEnery1881 to 1888 Francis T. Nicholls1888 to 1892 Murphy J. Foster 1892 to 1900 William W. Heard1900 to — United States Senators. Name.No. of Congress. Term. Thomas Posey 12th 1812 James Brown12th to 14th 1813 to 1817 Allan B. Magruder12th 1812 Eligins Fromentin13th to 15th1813 to 1819 Henry Johnson15th to 18th 1818 to 1824 James Brown16th to 18th 1819 to 1823 Dominique Bouligny18th t
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing), Louisiana, (search)
w Orleans, impeaches and suspends Governor Warmouth......Dec. 11, 1872 Inauguration of Kellogg as governor, also of John McEnery, nominee of the Democratic reformers and liberals......Jan. 14, 1873 Members of McEnery legislature seized and marcMcEnery legislature seized and marched to the guard-house by armed police......M arch 6, 1873 People submit to the Kellogg government at the point of the bayonet, as many express it. People's convention at New Orleans......Nov. 24, 1873 Crescent City White League formed, to asssurgents and police, the Statehouse is captured, and members of the McEnery legislature installed......Sept. 14, 1874 McEnery and Penn surrender the State buildings without resistance to General Brooke......Sept. 17, 1874 General Brooke appoins......1880 University for the higher education of colored boys opens......1880 Death of Governor Wiltz, Lieutenant-Governor McEnery succeeds......Oct. 17, 1881 Suit begun against Louisiana by New York and New Hampshire on coupons on Louisi
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing), White League. (search)
ident Grant said in a special message to Congress, Jan. 13, 1875: It has been bitterly and persistently alleged that Kellogg was not elected. Whether he was or not is not altogether certain, nor is it any more certain that his competitor, McEnery, was chosen. The election was a gigantic fraud, and there are no reliable returns of its result. Kellogg obtained possession of the office, and in my opinion has more right to it than his competitor. On Feb. 20, 1873, the committee on privi votes, against another whose title to the office is undoubtedly based on fraud, and in defiance of the wishes and intentions of the voters of the State. Misinformed and misjudging as to the nature and extent of this report, the supporters of McEnery proceeded to displace by force in some counties of the State the appointees of Governor Kellogg; and on April 13, in an effort of that kind, a butchery of citizens was committed at Colfax, which in bloodthirstiness and barbarity is hardly surpas
Brigadier-General Ellison Capers, Confederate Military History, a library of Confederate States Military History: Volume 5, South Carolina (ed. Clement Anselm Evans), Chapter 4: (search)
chief command. Col. Johnson Hagood, First volunteers, commanded the advance guard, composed of his own regiment, the Twenty-fourth, Col. C. H. Stevens; the Eutaw battalion, Lieut.-Col. C. H. Simonton, and the Fourth Louisiana battalion, Lieut.-Col. J. McEnery. This force was encamped outside the line of defense, and was charged with guarding the front of the Confederate line, except the immediate front of Secessionville, which was protected by its own outposts. Secessionville is situated ors, and especially acknowledged the heroism and ability of Lamar and his garrison. In published orders, the following officers and soldiers were specially mentioned for good conduct: Col. T. G. Lamar, Lieut.-Cols. P. C. Gaillard, A. D. Smith, John McEnery and Ellison Capers; Majs. David Ramsay and J. H. Hudson; Capts. Samuel J. Reed, Henry C. King, F. T. Miles, G. D. Keitt, W. W. McCreery, F. N. Bonneau, R. E. Elliott, S. J. Corrie, H. W. Carr, Joshua Jamison, Samuel S. Tompkins and W. H. Ryan