hide Matching Documents

The documents where this entity occurs most often are shown below. Click on a document to open it.

Document Max. Freq Min. Freq
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing) 3 1 Browse Search
View all matching documents...

Your search returned 3 results in 2 document sections:

Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing), Fort Donelson, (search)
Fort Donelson, A notable fortification on the Cumberland River in Tennessee, 63 miles northwest of Nashville. After the capture of Fort Henry (q. v.)there was no hinderance to the river navy going up the Tennessee to the fertile cotton regions of the heart of the Confederacy. Foote sent Lieut.-Com. S. L. Phelps, with three vessels, to reconnoitre the borders Fort Donelson. of that river. They penetrated to Florence, Ala., seizing Confederate vessels and destroying Confederate property, and discovered the weakness of the Confederacy in all that region, for Unionism was everywhere prevalent, but suppressed by the mailed hand of the Confederate leaders. Phelps's report caused an immediate expedition against Fort Donelson, situated on the high left bank of the Cumberland River, at Dover, the capital of Stewart county, Tenn. It was formed chiefly of outlying intrenchments, covering about 100 acres, upon hills furrowed by ravines. At Fort Henry, General Grant reorganized his ar
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing), District of Columbia. (search)
....Feb. 22, 1897 General convention of the Protestant Episcopal Church held at Washington......Oct. 5, 1898 Gas explosion in the Capitol wrecks the Supreme Court room......Nov. 7, 1898 General Garcia, the Cuban leader, dies at Washington......Dec. 11, 1898 Congress appropriates $10,000 for the celebration of the establishment of the seat of government at Washington......Feb. 28, 1899 President of the board of commissioners of the District of Columbia are as follows: Seth Ledyard Phelps, president......July 1, 1878, to Nov. 29, 1879 Josiah Dent, president......Nov. 29, 1879, to July 17, 1882 Josiah Rodman West, president......July 17, 1882, to March 29, 1883 James Barker Edmonds, president......March 29, 1883, to April 1, 1886 William Benning Webb, president......April 1, 1886, to May 21, 1889 John Watkinson Douglass, president......May 21, 1889, to March 1, 1893 John Wesley Ross, president......March 1, 1893, to June 1, 1898 John Brewer Wight,