hide Matching Documents

Browsing named entities in Southern Historical Society Papers, Volume 17. (ed. Reverend J. William Jones). You can also browse the collection for Thomas Pinckney or search for Thomas Pinckney in all documents.

Your search returned 4 results in 4 document sections:

Southern Historical Society Papers, Volume 17. (ed. Reverend J. William Jones), Confederate surgeons. (search)
n arose based on difference of conduct, of character, or talents. If your ancestors fought and bled, and gave their property or their lives freely for their country, whilst ours remained at home in inglorious ease, or were money-changers, and wholly devoid of patriotism, we must naturally expect that superior respect and position—other things being equal—should be accorded you, and, by virtue of a more honorable past, you should receive a fuller recognition from society and the world. As Pinckney and Rutledge, Moultrie and Marion, Pickens, Gadsden, Sumter, Richardson, and Bratton left to their descendants a record of good birth, character and capacity, there was presumptive evidence that such superior hereditary qualities would be maintained. Can there be any doubt, also, that Hampton, Butler, Anderson and Kershaw; Gregg, Hagood, Evans, Bratton and Jenkins; McGowan, Elliott, Conner, Manigault, Aiken and Capers; Barker and Gaillard, McMaster and Haskell; the Wallaces, and— Hund<
Southern Historical Society Papers, Volume 17. (ed. Reverend J. William Jones), A list of Confederate officers, prisoners, who were held by Federal authority on Morris Island, S. C., under Confederate fire from September 7th to October 21st, 1864. (search)
J. M. Allen, 29th Miss. inft., Granada. Zzz=2d Lt. Wm. M. Bullock, 48th Miss. inft., Bovina. Zzz=2d Lt. Timothy Foley, 19th Miss. inft., Vicksburg. South Carolina. Maj. M. G. Zeigler, Holcombe's, Cokesbery. Zzz=Maj. W. T. Emanuel, 4th S. C. cav., Charleston. Capt. P. B. Mastin, Holcombe's, Spartanburg. Zzz=Capt. J. C. Moore, Holcombe's, Cokesbery. Zzz=Capt. S. B. Meacham, 5th inft., Yorkville. Zzz=Capt. W. L. Campbell, 11th inft., Waltersboro. Zzz=Capt. Thos. Pinckney, 4th cav., Charleston. Zzz=Capt. James Melvaney, 27th inft., Charleston. 1st Lt. P. W. Easterling, 5th cav., Charleston. Zzz=1st Lt. W. W. Covington, 23d cav., Bennettsville. Zzz=1st Lt. H. J. Clifton, 2st cav., Timmonsville. 2d Lt. W. S. Bissell, 2d cav., Charlestown. Zzz=2d Lt. S. T. Anderson, 1st cav., Chester District. 2d Lt. J. B. Gallman, 5th inft., Unionsville. Zzz=2d Lt. N. B. Lusk, 12th inft., Cherokee. Zzz=2d Lt. J. A. Garrett, Holcom's, Spartenburg
Southern Historical Society Papers, Volume 17. (ed. Reverend J. William Jones), Annual Reunion of the Association of the Army of Northern Virginia. (search)
Alabama. By this time the committee had returned, and reported the names of the following gentlemen as officers for the ensuing year, and the report was unanimously agreed to: President—General William H. Payne. First Vice-President—General T. T. Munford. Second Vice-President—General B. T. Johnson. Third Vice-President—General E. M. Law. Secretary—Captain Thomas Ellett. Treasurer—Private Robert J. Bosher. Executive Committee—Colonel W. E. Cutshaw (chairman), Captain Thomas Pinckney, Private J. T. Gray, Major E. T. D. Myers, and Captain E. P. Reeve. The President then announced the banquet, after which, at 10:45, the Association adjourned. After the speaking at the Capitol the Association and their guests repaired to Saenger Hall, where an excellent supper was spread and fully enjoyed. General Payne presided, and introduced the speakers. The following were the regular toasts and respondents: The Infantry: If ever a band of warriors w
Southern Historical Society Papers, Volume 17. (ed. Reverend J. William Jones), chapter 1.14 (search)
H. Bate, Eppa Hunton, William H. Payne, James H. Lane, William McComb, G. M. Sorrel, T. M. Logan, E. M. Law, C. A. Battle, M. C. Butler, W. P. Roberts, Joseph Wheeler; Colonels William A. Morgan, William H. Palmer, Hilary P. Jones, Thomas H. Carter, R. H. Dulany, F. M. Boykin, H. Kyd Douglass, Henry T. Douglass, Wilfred E. Cutshaw, Thomas Smith; Majors W. J. Johnston, J. Van Holt Nash, N. V. Randolph, Percy Hawes, R. Taylor Scott; Captains E. J. Levy, John Cussens, Charles U. Williams, Thomas Pinckney, A. W. Garber, Drs. S. A. Goodwin, J. S. D. Cullen, J. B. McCaw, George Ross, C. W. P. Brock; Privates John Gill, W. J. Binford, Phil. Sutton, Thomas S. Walker, Joseph Parkinson, R. F. Vaughan, H. Clay Chamblin, John Gilliam, J. A. Lipscomb; U. S. Senator John H. Reagan, Hon. Charles T. O'Ferrall, Gen. D. A. Weisiger, Capt. C. F. M. Spotswood, C. S. Navy, Capt. R. B. Pegram, Gen. L. S. Baker, Hon. John Goode, Gen. H. H. Walker, Captains John Taylor Wood, John M. Booker, W. H. Murdaugh,