Browsing named entities in The Daily Dispatch: June 22, 1861., [Electronic resource]. You can also browse the collection for Slaughter or search for Slaughter in all documents.

Your search returned 3 results in 2 document sections:

announced by the Chair. Mr. Haymond rose to a privileged question. He read an extract from the official report of yesterday a proceedings, in which his position was misunderstood, and repeated the remarks he made on that occasion. Mr. Slaughter submitted a resolution the purport of which was that in electing members for the Provisional Congress of the Confederate States, one member shall be elected from each of the late Congressional districts of the State, except the First, Sixth, e interesting debate on the subject. The Chair ruled that so much of the resolution as related to the eligibility of members of this Convention having been disposed of yesterday, was now out of order unless under a motion to reconsider. Mr. Slaughter finding the gist of his resolution thus disposed of, withdrew his resolution. Mr. Coffman submitted a resolution, the purport of which was, that the Committee on Finance be instructed to inquire into the expediency of permitting the Bank
District. Mr. Forera, of Buckingham, nominated Hon. Thomas S. Bocock. Mr. Slaughter moved that the election be unanimous. Mr. Suthelyn also favored the election of this gentlemen. Sixth District. Represented by Mr. Rives, and no vacancy. Seventh District. Mr. Moffit nominated Ex-Governor Smith, of Fauquier, and urged his claims. Mr. Conrad wished to give the Convention a choice, and nominated. Robert E. Scott, of Fauquier. The roll was called, resulting as follows: Smith, 20 votes; Scott, 62 votes. eight District. Mr. Borst nominated Hon. James M. Mason Mr. A. M. Harbour nominated Hon. A. R. Boteler. Mr. Barbour urged the claims of Mr. Boteler, and was replied to by Mr. Borst, who reprobated any allusion in this Hall to Whigs, Democrats, onto any old party distinctions. The vote being called, Mr. J. M. Mason received 54 votes and Mr. Boteler 45 votes. Ninth District. Already represented by Judge Brockenbrough--no vacancy.