Browsing named entities in Benjamin Cutter, William R. Cutter, History of the town of Arlington, Massachusetts, ormerly the second precinct in Cambridge, or District of Menotomy, afterward the town of West Cambridge. 1635-1879 with a genealogical register of the inhabitants of the precinct.. You can also browse the collection for Edward Smith or search for Edward Smith in all documents.

Your search returned 2 results in 2 document sections:

uth District, and the land where the former school-house stood, and the former house, are sold. The town voted to dispose of the school-house near Miles Gardner's. 1843 The town voted not to appropriate the Lower Common for a Burial Ground. The town purchased the lot on Medford Street, where the present cemetery now is, for a new Burying Ground. The committee for the purpose of laying out the new Burying Ground, were Thomas Thorp, Daniel Cady, Josiah H. Russell, Isaiah Jenkins, Edward Smith and Moses Proctor. A good and substantial stone wall around the Old and New Cemeteries was erected, with suitable gates, in 1843. Trees were set out in Old Cemetery in 1845. The New Cemetery was known by the name of Mount Pleasant Cemetery in 1846. The hearse-house was located at the lower end of the main avenue in the latter cemetery in 1847. John B. Hartwell was chosen sexton by the town in 1848 (chosen sexton by the First Parish in 1841), and has continued in office with his son
808. James Hill, 1808. George Prentiss, 1809-12. Thomas Russell, Jr., 1809-25. James Perry, 1813-22. Walter Russell, 1813-18. Benjamin Locke, 1819-22. William Locke, 2d, 1823-26, 1836 (thanks of town voted 1837, for his long and faithful services). Jonathan Frost, 1823-25. Charles Wellington, 1826-31. Joshua Avery, 1826-36 (thanks of town voted 1837, for his long and faithful services in this office). Henry Wellington, 1827-29. Abner Peirce, 1830-35. Edward Smith, 1832-36 (thanks of town voted 1837, for his services in this office). James Russell, Esq., 1837-44. Philip B. Fessenden, 1837-40. Leonard Green, 1837-40. Mansur W. Marsh, 1841-48, 1851-53, 1855-57. Walter Fletcher, 1841-43. John Schouler, 1844-46, 1853. Josiah H. Russell, 1846, 1846. William Dickson, 1847-60, 1854-57. Albert Winn, 1847-50, 1862, 1863, 1866, 1857. Amos Hill, Jr., 1849. Joseph O. Wellington, 1850, 1854. Lewis P. Bartlett, 1851, 1862. Moses Proc