Browsing named entities in William Schouler, A history of Massachusetts in the Civil War: Volume 1. You can also browse the collection for Oliver Warner or search for Oliver Warner in all documents.

Your search returned 5 results in 4 document sections:

he Republican State Convention for Governor, and was elected by the majority we have already stated, in the largest popular vote ever cast in the State. This, in brief, was the life of Governor Andrew, up to the time he entered upon the duties of Governor of this Common-wealth. Associated with him on the ticket as Lieutenant-Governor was Hon. John Z. Goodrich, of West Stockbridge, who, being afterwards appointed Collector of the Port of Boston, resigned on the 29th of March, 1861. Oliver Warner, of Northampton, was elected Secretary of State; Henry K. Oliver, of Salem, Treasurer and Receiver-General; Dwight Foster, of Worcester, Attorney-General; and Levi Reed, of Abington, Auditor of Accounts. Jacob Sleeper, of Boston; John I. Baker, of Beverly; James M. Shute, of Somerville; Hugh M. Greene, of Northfield; Joel Hayden, of Williamsburg; James Ritchie, of Roxbury; Oakes Ames, of Easton; and Eleazer C. Sherman, of Plymouth,—were elected Councillors. William Schouler, of Lynn, w
mer years, a Whig; in later years, he was what was called a Conservative. He never had joined the Republican party. Mr. Frothingham had always been a Democrat, of the straightest sect; and was, at this time, one of the editors of the Boston Post. Mr. Oliver, Mr. Reed, and Mr. Foster were Republicans, and incumbents of the offices for which they had been renominated. On taking the vote upon the report of the committee, Mr. Frothingham failed of a nomination; the incumbent of the office, Oliver Warner, being the choice of the convention. The opposition to Mr. Frothingham was led by Mr. Moses Kimball, of Boston, who quoted part of an article from the Boston Post, of that morning, asking the convention to drop such extreme men as Governor Andrew, and some of his associates, in the executive departments, in making up a new State ticket. The authorship of the article was attributed by Mr. Kimball to Mr. Frothingham. The effect on the convention answered the purpose of the gentleman who
en to encouraging enlistments, by the example of his own enrolment, if he is within the prescribed limits of age and health, and, if not, by stimulating the patriotism of his neighbors. John A. Andrew. By His Excellency the Governor. Oliver Warner, Secretary of the Commonwealth. This order was very generally observed throughout the Commonwealth, until the thirty-four thousand men which we were to raise were organized into regiments, and sent forward to the war. In the appointmenden, of Williamsburg, was nominated Lieutenant-Governor in his stead, on the first ballot. This completed the ticket, which was as follows: For Governor, John A. Andrew, of Boston; Lieutenant-Governor, Joel Hayden, of Williamsburg; Secretary of State, Oliver Warner, of Northampton; Treasurer, Henry K. Oliver, of Salem; Auditor, Levi Reed, of Abington; AttorneyGen-eral, Dwight Foster, of Worcester. The Democratic party proper did not hold a convention to nominate candidates for State officer
The meeting was permanently organized by the choice of Charles Sumner for president, and a number of vice-presidents and secretaries, among whom were several of the representative men of the party. Alexander H. Bullock, of Worcester, was unanimously nominated for Governor, and William Claflin, of Newton, for Lieutenant-Governor. Henry S. Briggs, of Pittsfield, was nominated for Auditor; Jacob H. Loud, of Plymouth, for Treasurer; Chester I. Reed, of Taunton, for Attorney-General; and Oliver Warner, of Northampton, for Secretary of State. In the afternoon, speeches were made by Hon. Charles Sumner, Benjamin F. Butler, Mr. Bullock, the nominee for Governor, and Mr. Claflin, the nominee for Lieutenant-Governor, and a series of patriotic resolutions were reported by William S. Robinson, of Malden, chairman of the Committee on Resolutions. The Democratic Convention met in Worcester, on the 29th of September. John K. Tarbox was chosen temporary chairman, and Edward Avery, of Brain