Browsing named entities in The Daily Dispatch: June 17, 1861., [Electronic resource]. You can also browse the collection for John Janney or search for John Janney in all documents.

Your search returned 2 results in 2 document sections:

Virginia State Convention.Third day--[second session] Richmond, June 15. The Convention was called to order at the usual hour, President Janney in the chair.--The proceedings were opened with prayer by Rev. J. L. Burrows of the Baptist Church. The Committees were called upon in their regular order, but no reports were submitted. The President then announced that he had received a letter from Colonel Richardson, a member of the Convention, assigning as the cause of his absence the military duties devolving upon him at this time at Craney Island. The letter was ordered to be read. The Chair next announced the members of several special committees ordered yesterday to be raised. The most important is the committee of seven, appointed to confer with the authorities of the Confederate States, on the general subject of the relations existing between them and the State of Virginia James Bigbock is the chairman of this important committee. The other special committe
The Daily Dispatch: June 17, 1861., [Electronic resource], The vote on the Ordinance of Secession. (search)
iam T. Suthorlin, Ferdall Gregory, Jr, George P. Layle, William L. Goggin, John T. Th nion, John Goods, Jr., William M. Tredway, Thomas F. Goode, Robert H. Turner, F. L. Hale, Franklin P. Turner, Cyrus H John Tr, L. S. Hall, Edward Waller, Lewis Harvie, Robert H. Whitfield, James P. Holcombe, Samuel C. Williams, John Hughes, Henry A. Wise, p H n Samuel Woods, Lewis D. Isbell, Benj. F. Wysor — ss. Those who voted in the negative are-- John Janney, Pres't J. G. Holladay, Edward M. Armstrong, Chester Huchard, John B. Baldwin, George W. Hull, George Baylor, John J. Jackson, George W. Berlin, John F. Lewis, Caleb B g s William McComas, George W. Brent, James C. McGrew, William G. Brown, James Marshall, John S. Burdett, Henry H. Masters, James Bu ley, Famuel McD. Moore, Benj. W. Byrae, Hugh M. Nelson, John S. Carlile, Logan Osborn, John A. Carter, Spicer Patrick, Sherrard Chamans,