Browsing named entities in The Daily Dispatch: July 10, 1861., [Electronic resource]. You can also browse the collection for Covode or search for Covode in all documents.

Your search returned 2 results in 2 document sections:

he absence of the able statesmen who formerly represented six millions of people in eleven sovereign States of this continent, caused some sorrowful hearts, whose patriotism had not yet been crushed, to exclaim within themselves:--Alas ! my poor country, now no longer a nation, but disunited sections, divided by the mercenaries who thus willingly sacrificed the peace and liberty of their country for gold, to the gratification of a sordid ambition. It was a mournful sight to see Grow, Blair, Covode, Colfax. Washburne, and others of their school, holding the position of a monopolized Legislature of a country. Where now are the able and honest Letcher, Stephens, Miles, Davis, Smith and others? Absent, comes the thrilling answer, but untrammeled in their patriotism and independence. A noticeable feature of the voting was the ballot cast for presiding officer by C. L. L. Leary, of Baltimore. Give it to the world as an index of his future policy. When Mr. Leary's name was called,
Northern Congress. Washington, July 9 --The Speaker of the House of Representatives has appointed the committees. The chairman of the Committee on Elections is Mr. Davis; on Claims, Mr. Fenton; on Commerce, Mr. Washburne, of Illinois; on Public Lands, Mr. Potter; on Postal Affairs, Mr. Morrill, of Maryland; on the District of Columbia, Mr. Conkling; on the Judiciary, Mr. Hickman; on Revolutionary Claims, Mr. Duet; on Public Expenditures, Mr. Covode; on the Militia, Mr. Var Valkenburg; and on the Navy, Mr. Sedgwick The Committee on Ways and Means are Messrs. Stephens, Morrill of Vermont, Phelps, Spalding, Appleton, Corning, Horton, McClelland and Stratton. The Committee on Foreign Affairs are Messrs. Crittenden, Gooch, Cox, White of Indiana, McKnight, Burnham, Thomas of Maryland, Pomeroy and Fisher. The Chairman of the Committee on Pensions is Mr. Van Wyck, and on Roads and Canals is Mr. Mallory.