Browsing named entities in The Daily Dispatch: May 19, 1862., [Electronic resource]. You can also browse the collection for Grayson or search for Grayson in all documents.

Your search returned 2 results in 2 document sections:

General Assembly of Virginia. extra session. Senate. Friday,May 16th, 1862. Mr. Johnson, of Bedford, in the Chair. Mr. Dickinson, of Grayson, submitted a report from the Joint Committee on the Penitentiary. The report sets forth that the Governor having fully investigated all matters relating to the late mutiny in the Penitentiary, there is no need of any further motion by the Legislature in the premises. A bill in regard to Boards of Exemptions was read a second time; ordered to be laid on the table. Mr. Robertson submitted a report from the Joint Committee in regard to "committees of Safety." The report sets forth that the State and Confederate authorities have ample powers to meet all exigencies that may arise, and discountenance the forming of any such bodies as Vigilance Committees. Mr. Armstrong moved that the injunction of secrecy he removed from the bill a sing a force of ten thousand men. Carried. On motion, the Senate took a recess to 8 o
remove slaves out of the State to any one of the Confederate States, for the purpose of preserving such property, the tenant for life shall not be responsible to the remaindering for any loss or damage that may thereby occur. On motion, the Senate concurred in the bill. On motion of Mr.Armstrong, a committee of five, consisting of Messrs Armstrong, Bruce, Newman, Neeson and Hart, were appointed to confer with a committee upon fixing a period for adjournment. The committee subsequently reported, fixing Monday, at 2 P.M, as the time for adjournment, sins dis. The report was concurred in by ayes 19, nays 16, as follows: Ayes--Messrs. Alderson, Bales, Bruce, Carton, Collier, Dickenson of Grayson, Frazier, Hart, Johnson, Logan, Massie, Quesenberry, Thomas, Thompson, Urquhart, whittle, and Wiley. Naye--Messrs. Armstrong, Ball, Branch, Brannon, Carraway, Coghill, Dickinson of Prince Edward, Finney, Isbell, McKenney, Nash, Neeson, Newton, Newman, Pate, and Robertson.