previous next

The poet, after dividing into ten parts, or dynasties,1 the whole of the country which we now call Thessaly, and after adding certain parts both of the Oetaean and the Locrian countries, and likewise certain parts of the country now classed under Macedonia, intimates a fact which is common to, and true of, all countries, that whole regions and their several parts undergo changes in proportion to the power of those who hold sway.

1 The dynasties of Achilles, ProtesilaĆ¼s, Eumelus, Philoctetes, Podaleirus, Eurypylus, Polypoetes, Guneus, ProthoĆ¼s, and Phoenix, all of whom are mentioned in Hom. Il. 2.685-756, except Phoenix, who in Hom. Il. 9.484 is "lord over the Dolopians" and in Hom. Il. 16.196 is "ruler of the fourth company" of the Myrmidons.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

load focus Greek (1877)
load focus English (H.C. Hamilton, Esq., W. Falconer, M.A., 1903)
hide Places (automatically extracted)

View a map of the most frequently mentioned places in this document.

Download Pleiades ancient places geospacial dataset for this text.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: