previous next


Beyond the Epictetus to the south is the Greater Phrygia, leaving on the left Pessinus, and the parts about Orcaorci, and Lycaonia, and on the right Mæones, Lydians, and Carians. In the Epictetus are Phrygia Paroreia, and the country towards Pisidia, and the parts about Amorium,1 Eumeneia,2 and Synnada.3 Next are Apameia Cibotus,4 and Laodiceia,5 the largest cities in Phrygia. Around them lie the towns [and places], Aphrodisias,6 Colossæ,7 Themisonium,8 Sanaus, Metropolis,9 Apollonias, and farther off than these, Pelte, Tabeæ, Eucarpia, and Lysias.

1 Hergan Kaleh.

2 Ischekli.

3 Afium-Karahissar.

4 Dinear.

5 Iorghan-Ladik.

6 Geira.

7 Destroyed by an earthquake in the time of Nero, afterwards Konos.

8 Teseni.

9 Ballyk.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

load focus Greek (1877)
load focus English (1924)
hide References (1 total)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: