previous next


Opposite to Canastrum, a promontory of Pallene, is the promontory Derris, near Cophus-Limen [or Deaf Harbour]: these form the boundaries of the Toronæan Gulf. Again, towards the east lies the promontory of Athos, [Nymphaeum,] which bounds the Singitic Gulf. Then follow one another the gulfs of the Ægean Sea, towards the north, in this order: the Maliac,1 the Pagasitic,2 the Thermæan,3 the Toronæan,4 the Singitic,5 and the Strymonic.6 The promontories are these: Posidium,7 situated between the Maliac and Pegasitic Gulfs; next in order, towards the north, Sepias;8 then Canastrum9 in Pallene; then Derris;10 next Nymphæum11 in Athos, on the Singitic Gulf; Acrathos,12 the promontory on the Strymonic Gulf; between them is Athos, to the east of which is Lemnos. Neapolis13 bounds the Strymonic Gulf towards the north. EPIT.

1 Gulf of Zeitun.

2 G. of Volo.

3 G. of Salonica.

4 G. of Cassandra.

5 G. of Monte Santo.

6 G. of Orfane

7 Cape Stauros.

8 C. Demitri.

9 C. Pailuri.

10 C. Drepano

11 C. St. George.

12 C. Monte Santo.

13 Kavala.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

load focus English (1924)
load focus Greek (1877)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: