previous next

PAX JULIA (Beja) Alentejo, Portugal.

Mentioned by Ptolemy (2.5), it was made a colonia by Julius Caesar or Octavian. It was the seat of one of the three judicial districts into which Augustus divided Lusitania, and minted coins in the time of Octavius. The fortifications, reconstructed in the Middle Ages over the remains of the Roman ones, retained the three early gates: Aviz, Mértola, and Évora. Only the gate of Évora remains today. The foundations of a temple have been discovered, but were covered again.


A. Viana, Origem e evolução histórica de Beja (1944).


hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: