previous next




The northern coast of the Peloponnesus, originally called Aegialea or Aegialus, i. e. the coast-land, was bounded on the north by the Corinthian Gulf and the Ionian Sea, on the south by Elis and Arcadia, on the west by the Ionian Sea, and on the east by Sicyonia. Respecting its inhabitants, see Achaei.


A district in Thessaly, which appears to have been the original seat of the Achaei.


The Roman province, which included Peloponnesus and northern Greece south of Thessaly. It was formed on the dissolution of the Achaean League (q.v.) in B.C. 146, and hence derived its name.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: