previous next

Augustae Historiae Scriptōres

Six writers (Aelius Spartianus, Vulcatius Gallicanus, Trebellius Pollio, Flavius Vopiscus, Aelius Lampridius, and Iulius Capitolinus) who wrote the lives of the emperors from Hadrian to Numerianus (A.D. 117- 284). These lives are all equally devoid of literary excellence, but appear to be written truthfully, and are valuable for the information which they give. The best text is that of H. Peter, 2 vols. (Leipzig, 1865). The only English translation is that of Bernard (London, 1740).

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: