previous next

Aegaeum Mare

The part of the Mediterranean Sea now called the Archipelago. It was bounded on the north by Thrace and Macedonia, on the west by Greece, and on the east by Asia Minor. It contains in its southern part two groups of islands—the Cyclades, which were separated from the coasts of Attica and Peloponnesus by the Myrtoan Sea, and the Sporades, lying off the coasts of Caria and Ionia. The part of the Aegaean which washed the Sporades was called the Icarian Sea, from the island Icaria, one of the Sporades.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: