previous next

City Editions of Homer

A name given by Homeric scholars to the “official” copies of the Homeric poems preserved by authority, and from which private copies were made. An edition means a single copy, and there were seven socalled “city” or “civic” editions—the Massaliotic, Sinopic, Chian, Cyprian, Argive, Cretan, and Lesbian (Aeolic). Of these the first four were Ionic, and the last three Aeolic. They are said by some to have been copied from the recension of the poems made by the commission of Pisistratus appointed to rearrange and edit them. See Mahaffy, Hist. of Class. Greek Literature (1880), vol. i. pp. 28, 29, and 35; and the article Homerus.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: