previous next


Καππαδοκία). A district of Asia Minor, to which different boundaries were assigned at different times. Under the Persian Empire it included the whole country inhabited by a people of Syrian origin, who were called (from their complexion) White Syrians (Leucosyri), and also Cappadoces. Their country embraced the whole northeast part of Asia Minor, east of the river Halys and north of Mount Taurus, which was afterwards divided into Pontus and Cappadocia proper. (See Pontus.) When this division took place is uncertain; but we find that under the Persian Empire the whole country was governed by a line of hereditary satraps, who eventually became independent kings. At a later period Cappadocia proper was governed by a line of independent monarchs. In A.D. 17, Archelaüs, the last king, died at Rome, and Tiberius made Cappadocia a Roman province. Cappadocia was a rough and mountainous region. Its fine pastures supported an abundance of good horses and mules.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: