previous next


δεκάπρωτοι). In the Greek-speaking cities of the Roman Empire a committee of ten, or more rarely of twenty (εἰκοσάπρωτοι, icosaproti), was chosen from among the decuriones or provincial senators, and charged with the collection of the taxes, for which they were made responsible. These decaproti are to be distinguished from the decem primi (q. v.) in Rome and the Italian municipia, who were honorary representatives of their curia, but not magistrates.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: