previous next




A small and mountainous country in Greece, formerly called Dryopis, bounded by Thessaly on the north, by Aetolia on the west, by Locris on the south, and by Phocis on the east. It contained four towns —Boum, Citinium, Erineus, and Pindus—which formed the Dorian tetrapolis. These towns never attained any consequence; but the country is of importance as the home of the Dorians (Δωριεῖς), one of the great Hellenic races, who conquered Peloponnesus. It was related that Aegimius, king of the Dorians, had been driven from his dominions by the Lapithae, but was reinstated by Heracles; that the children of Heracles hence took refuge in this land when they had been expelled from the Peloponnesus; and that it was to restore them to their rights that the Dorians invaded the Peloponnesus. Accordingly, the conquest of Peloponnesus by the Dorians is usually called the Return of the Heraclidae. (See Heraclidae.) The Dorians were divided into three tribes: the Hylleis, Pamphyli, and Dymanes. They were the ruling class throughout the Peloponnesus; the old inhabitants were reduced to slavery, or became subjects of the Dorians under the name of Perioeci (Περίοικοι).


A district in Asia Minor consisting of the Dorian settlements on the coast of Caria and the neighbouring islands. Six of these towns formed a league, called the “Dorian Hexapolis,” consisting of Lindus, Ialysus, and Camirus in the island of Rhodes, the island of Cos, and Cnidus and Halicarnassus on the mainland.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: