previous next


Ὑδάσπης). The modern Jhelum; the northernmost of the five great tributaries of the Indus, which, with the Indus itself, water the great plain of northern India, which is bounded on the north by the Himalaya range, and which is now called the Punjab—i. e. five rivers. The Hydaspes falls into the Acesines (Chenâb), which itself falls into the Indus. The epithet fabulosus, which Horace applies to the Hydaspes, refers to the marvellous stories current among the Romans, who knew next to nothing about India. See India.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: