previous next


πλειάς, “a group of seven stars”). The name given by the Alexandrian critics to a group of seven tragic poets, who wrote at Alexandria under Ptolemy Philadelphus in the first half of the third century B.C. Their names were: Alexander Aetolus, Philiscus, Sositheus, Homerus, Aeantides, Sosiphanes, and Lycophron. See Canon Alexandrinus.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: