previous next


Πυρήνη) or Pyrenaei Montes (τὰ Πυρηναῖα ὄρη). The Pyrenees; a range of mountains extending from the Atlantic to the Mediterranean, and forming the boundary between Gaul and Spain. The length of these mountains is about 270 miles in a straight line; their breadth varies from about 40 miles to 20; their greatest height is between 11,000 and 12,000 feet. The continuation of the mountains along the Maré Cantabricum was called Saltus Vasconum, and still farther west Mons Vindius or Vinnius.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: