previous next


and Raetia (the latter is preferable). A Roman province south of the Danube, was originally distinct from Vindelicia, and was bounded on the west by the Helvetii, on the east by Noricum, on the north by Vindelicia, and on the south by Cisalpine Gaul, thus corresponding to the Grisons in Switzerland, and to the greater part of the Tyrol. Towards the end of the first century, however, Vindelicia was added to the province of Rhaetia, whence Tacitus speaks of Augusta Vindelicorum as situated in Rhaetia. At a later time Rhaetia was subdivided into two provinces, Rhaetia Prima and Rhaetia Secunda, the former of which answered to the old province of Rhaetia, and the latter to Vindelicia. (See Vindelicia.) Through Rhaetia runs the principal chain of the Alps called the Alpes Rhaeticae. In it rise some of the great rivers of Northern Italy—the Athesis (Adige) and the Addua (Adda)—besides the Oenus (Irn). The early inhabitants of Rhaetia were said to be Etruscans, and down to a late date a dialect of Etruscan was spoken in parts of the country. (See Strabo, pp. 204, 292, 313; Pliny , Pliny H. N. iii. 133; and Polybius, xxxiv. 10—the last being the earliest mention of the Rhaeti.) In the Roman period, the preponderant race were the Kelts, who were not subdued until the reign of Augustus. The chief towns were Tridentinum (Trent) and Augusta Vindelicorum (Augsburg). See Planta, Die alte Rätien (1872); and Oberziner, I Reti (1890).

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: