previous next


Eth. HERMIONES one of the three great divisions into which, according to Tacitus (Germ. 2), the German nation was divided. These divisions were the Ingaevones. inhabiting the country near the ocean; the Hermzioes, occupying the central parts of Germany; and the rest: were called Istaevones. All three were said to have received their names from the three sons of Mannus; and as the one after whom the Hermiones were called, bore the name of Hermino, Irmino,, or Irmin, Grimm (Deutsche Mythol. i. p. 320, 2nd ed.) suggests that their name should be written Herminones, which is actually the reading of one of the MSS. of Tacitus. Pliny (4.28), instead of three, mentions five great divisions of the Germans, and makes the Hermiones the, fourth, adding that they included the Suevi, Hermunduri, Chatti, and Cherusci. Modern writers have hazarded numerous conjectures as to the different tribes contained in these three or five groups; but it will ever remain impossible to arrive at any satisfactory result. (See also Mela, 3.3; Orph. Argon. 1134.)


hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: