previous next

Olynthus, with the 32 towns of the Olynthian league, was destroyed in 348 B.C.; Methone was captured in 353. Of the fate of Apollonia, an Ionian colony in Mygdonia, we have no definite knowledge.

μηδ᾽ εἰ, ‘not (with ῥᾴδιον) much as whether’: with προσελθόντα supply τινά.

τὰς πολιτείας, ‘their constitutions,’ by establishing new governments composed of his own partisans: τὰς πόλεις, ‘their cities,’ by depriving them of their independence.

τετραρχίας, of the four districts into which he divided Thessaly. See on Phil. 2. 22, δεκαδαρχίαν.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: