previous next


and HELIADES (Ἡλιάδαι and (*Hlia/des), that is, the male and female descendants of Helios, and might accordingly be applied to all his children, but in mythology the name is given particularly to the seven sons and the one daughter of Helios by Rhode or Rhodos. Their names are, Cercaphus, Actis, Macarcus, Tanages, Triopas, Phaeton, Ochimus, and Electryone. These names, however, as well as their number, are not the same in all accounts. (Diod. 5.56, &c.; Schol. ad Pind. Ol. 7.131, &c.) It should be observed that the sisters of Phaeton are likewise called Heliades. (Ov. Met. 2.340, &c.; Apollon. 4.604.)


hide References (3 total)
  • Cross-references from this page (3):
    • Apollonius Rhodius, Argonautica, 4.604
    • Ovid, Metamorphoses, 2.340
    • Diodorus, Historical Library, 5.56
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: