previous next
19. The treaty begins, at Lacedaemon in the Ephorate of Pleistolas, and on the twenty-seventh1 day of the month Artemisium, and at Athens in the Archonship of Alcaeus, on the twentyfifth day of the month Elaphebolion2. [2] The following persons took the oaths and ratified the treaty:—On behalf of the Lacedaemonians, Pleistolas, Damagetus, Chionis, Metagenes, Acanthus, Daïthus, Ischagoras, Philocharidas, Zeuxidas, Antippus, Tellis, Alcinidas, Empedias, Menas, Laphilus; on behalf of the Athenians, Lampon, Isthmionicus, Nicias, Laches, Euthydemus, Procles, Pythodorus, Hagnon, Myrtilus, Thrasycles, Theagenes, Aristocrates, Iolcius, Timocrates, Leon, Lamachus, Demosthenes.

1 Ratification.

2 March-April.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

load focus Notes (Harold North Fowler)
load focus Notes (C.E. Graves, 1891)
load focus English (Thomas Hobbes, 1843)
load focus Greek (1942)
load focus English (1910)
hide References (19 total)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: