previous next


Army of the Ohio

The Department of the Ohio having been merged in that of Mississippi, March, 1862, it was recreated on August 19th, to consist of the States of Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, and Kentucky, east of the Tennessee River, and Major-General H. G. Wright was placed at the head. The troops of the department were scattered through many districts. Some of the brigades constituted the Army of Kentucky, of which Major-General Gordon Granger was in command. Wright was replaced March 25, 1863, by Major-General A. E. Burnside, and shortly afterward the troops in the department were reorganized into the Twenty-third Army Corps, and this force is the Army of the Ohio associated with the Knoxville, Atlanta, and Nashville campaigns. The Ninth Corps was attached to the department from March, 1863, to March, 1864. Burnside was succeeded in turn by Major-Generals J. G. Foster, J. M. Schofield, and George Stoneman. A cavalry division organized in April, 1864, was headed by Major-General Stoneman, and afterward by Colonels Capron and Garrard. On January 17, 1865, the troops still in the department (the Twenty-third Corps having gone to North Carolina) were annexed to the Department of the Cumberland.

Major-General John McAllister Schofield

(U. S.M. A. 1853) was born in Chautauqua County, New York, September 29, 1831. After garrison duty in Florida and South Carolina, he held the chair of natural philosophy at West Point and later at Washington University, St. Louis, where the outbreak of the Civil War found him. He had command of the District of St. Louis, Department of Missouri; Army of the Frontier; of a division in the Fourteenth Corps; the Department and Army of the Ohio, and of the Twenty-third Corps, which was transferred to North Carolina late in the war. He was made major-general of volunteers in November, 1862. His most noteworthy active services were rendered during the Atlanta campaign and at the battle of Franklin. After the Civil War he was Secretary of War ad interim, after the resignation of General Grant. He was commander of the United States army from 1888 to 1895, rising to the rank of lieutenant-general, at which he was retired in September, 1895. He died at St. Augustine, Florida, March 4, 1906.

Army of the Mississippi

The Army of the Mississippi had a short existence, being organized February 23d, and discontinued October 26, 1862. Its first commander was Major-General John Pope, who was succeeded, June 26th, by Major-General W. S. Rosecrans. This army consisted of five divisions, a flotilla brigade, and several brigades of cavalry, and operated on the Mississippi in the spring of 1862, capturing Island No.10; before Corinth in May, 1862, and at Iuka and Corinth in September and October, 1862. Most of the troops went into the Thirteenth Army Corps.

Army of Virginia

To obtain closer organization in the various commands operating in Virginia, President Lincoln, on June 26, 1862, constituted the Army of Virginia out of Major-General Fremont's forces (Mountain Department), those of Major-General McDowell (Department of the Rappahannock), those of Major-General Banks (Department of the Shenandoah), and Brigadier-General Sturgis' brigade from the Military District of Washington. This last, an unorganized body of troops, did not join the army at once. Major-General John Pope was placed at the head of the new organization, which was divided into three corps. Exclusive of Sturgis' troops it numbered between forty and fifty thousand men, and was augmented later by troops from three corps of the Army of the Potomac. A corps of the Army of Virginia checked ‘StonewallJackson's advance

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: