previous next


Federal generals--no. 7


George W. Deitzler originally Colonel of the 1st Infantry.

Thomas Ewing, Jr., originally Colonel of the 11th Cavalry.

Thomas moonlight, originally Colonel of the 11th Cavalry.

Powell Clayton, of Kansas—Later Governor of Arkansas.


D. J. Keily of LouisianaColonel of the Second Cavalry.


Speed S. fry noted for his encounter at Mill Springs.

Stephen G. Burbridge, Cavalry leader in the Morgan campaigns.

John T. Croxton, led a brigade in Tennessee and Georgia.

Edward H. Hobson, noted for the pursuit of Morgan's Raiders.

Walter C. Whittaker, commander of a brigade at Chickamauga.

Theophilus T. Garrard, defender of Kentucky and East Tennessee.

James M. Schackleford, prominent in the pursuit of Morgan's Raiders.

William Nelson, commanded a division in Buell's Army at Shiloh.

Jeremiah T. Boyle, defender of Kentucky and Tennessee.

N. B. Buford, leader of Cavalry in Kentucky and Tennessee.


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: