previous next


Federal generals--no. 11


John C. Palfrey chief Engineer of the 13th Army Corps.

Charles Devens, Colonel of the 15th regiment. Later commanded division.

George L. Andrews, engaged in the siege and capture of Port Hudson.

Edward W. Hinks originally Colonel of the 8th Infantry


J. M. Oliver originally Colonel of the 15th regiment.

Henry Baxter, promoted for gallantry at the Wilderness.

Joseph T. Copeland, originally Colonel of the 5th Cavalry.

Wm. R. Shafter, later commander at Santiago, Cuba.

Charles C. Doolittle, originally Colonel of the 18th Infantry; promoted for Merit.

Byron R. pierce, originally Colonel of the 3d Infantry.

Henry A. Morrow ‘here to fight, not to surrender’—Gettysburg, July 1.

Ralph Ely, leader of the brigade which was first in Petersburg.


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Places (automatically extracted)
hide People (automatically extracted)
hide Dates (automatically extracted)
Sort dates alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a date to search for it in this document.
July 1st (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: