previous next

Non-intercourse acts.

On June 12, 1798, Congress passed an act suspending all commercial intercourse with France and her dependencies. This widened the rupture between the two countries. While the embargo act was to be repealed, a substitute was given in the form of a nonintercourse act, which was passed in February, 1809. It did not satisfy everybody, but seemed the best attainable, and it received 81 votes against 40. The embargo remained in force until March 15, 1809, so far as related to all countries excepting France and Great Britain and its dependencies; and to them also after the end of the next session of Congress. See Berlin decree; Milan decree; orders in council.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Places (automatically extracted)

View a map of the most frequently mentioned places in this document.

Sort places alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a place to search for it in this document.
France (France) (2)
England (United Kingdom) (1)

Download Pleiades ancient places geospacial dataset for this text.

hide Dates (automatically extracted)
Sort dates alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a date to search for it in this document.
March 15th, 1809 AD (1)
February, 1809 AD (1)
June 12th, 1798 AD (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: