previous next

[480] Wilkinson, and Charles J. Villere (another brother-in-law), parish of Plaquemines, ditto for their parishes.

3. Mr. S. K. Wharton, Superintendent of the N. C. House, is very competent; J. M. Roy, assistant architect N. C. House, a practical mechanic, very superior and full of resources; J. H. Reid and son, and Henry Dart, for many years overseers and superintendents of the forts already named by me, are very reliable as military executive engineers; William Baily, chief-engineer Os. Railroad; these gentlemen (of par. 3) can give you all the information you may require about the localities they have worked at, and about the working men of New Orleans, as well as the resources of the place.

Wishing you success, I remain, yours very truly,

Appendix to Chapter XIII.

Adjutant and Inspector General's office, Richmond, Oct. 22d, 1801.
General Orders, No. 15.

I. A department is established, to be known and designated as the Department of Northern Virginia. It will be composed of the three following districts, viz.: the Valley District, the Potomac District, and the Aquia District. The Valley District will embrace the section of country between the Blue Ridge and the Allegheny Mountains; the Potomac District between the Blue Ridge Mountain and the left bank of Powell River; and the Aquia District between Powell River and the mouth of the Potomac, including the Northern Neck, and embracing the counties on either side of the Rappahannock River from its mouth to Fredericksburg.

II. General J. E. Johnston is assigned to the command of the Department of Northern Virginia; General P. G. T. Beauregard to the command of the Potomac Division; Major-General T. H. Holmes to the command of the Aquia District; and Major-General T. J. Jackson to the command of the Valley District.

III. The troops serving in the Potomac District will be brigaded and formed into divisions as follows:

First Division, under command of Major-General Van Dorn: First Brigade, Brigadier-General Clark, to consist of four Mississippi regiments.

Second Brigade, Brigadier-General Whiting, to consist of five Mississippi regiments.

Third Brigade, Brigadier-General Stuart, to consist of the cavalry of this district, to be united into one brigade.

Fourth, the Hampton Legion, under Colonel

Second Division, under command of Major-General G. W. Smith:

First Brigade, Brigadier-General Ewell, to consist of four Virginia regiments.

Second Brigade, Brigadier-General S. Jones, to consist of four Virginia regiments.

Third Brigade, Brigadier-General Early, to consist of four Virginia regiments.

Fourth Brigade, Brigadier-General Crittenden, to consist of two Virginia regiments, two Tennessee regiments, and one Kentucky regiment.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Dates (automatically extracted)
Sort dates alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a date to search for it in this document.
October 22nd, 1801 AD (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: