History of the church (Supplementary.)
Eleven months elapsed between the time that Mr. Skinner
left us and Mr. Powers
In that long, weary period the parish went through an inquisitorial experience of occasional candidates and numerous supplies.
We listened to a superannuated clergyman one Sunday, with his ‘seventhlies’ and ‘eighthlies,’ his ‘lastly,’ and his ‘word to close’; to a young theological student the next Sunday
, who gave us vivid descriptions of the Holy Land
—which he had never visited—and interlarded his discourse with real Hebrew and Greek
Another day we would have a college professor, with his one sermon, which he had preached until the manuscript was dog-eared, full of details—everything minutely explained—so that the members of the congregation had no use for brains; they only needed ears and strength of will to keep awake.
Needless to record, during this martyrdom the congregations dwindled until only the faithful few remained.
In fact, all parish activities were affected by this lethargy.
On the advent of Mr. Powers
, the reaction was sudden, and to some seemed sensational; it was but the turn of the tide, which, having reached its lowest ebb, began once more to rise to its flood.
Rev. L. M. Powers
was preaching in Foxboro, Mass.
, when our parish called him to its pastorate, April 11, 1892.
He accepted in a letter dated April 20, and preached his first sermon as pastor June 5 of the same year.
He was officially installed October 9.
A young man of exceptional ability, full of ideas and enthusiasm, his pastorate was a notable one.