It is needless to give the subjects which were debated at these meetings; they were the usual ones propounded in such gatherings.
If to-day we smile at them, we must remember that they served their purpose Very well, and helped the young men to acquire ease in extemporaneous speaking.
Up to January 1, 1889, eight meetings were held, with an average attendance of 9.8, with A. W. Glines
, H. M. Haven
, S. C. Earle
present at each meeting, William Moore
absent once, William T. Hayes
absent twice, etc.
The meeting of February 9, 1889, was a social one, that of April 4, Fast Day, was an out-of-doors affair, when the club and their friends took an outing to Blue Hills
, via Readville.
Each season the club made a visit on the pastor of the society, Rev. C. A. Skinner
; the evening of April 18 was so observed.
In the fall of 1889 a chairman for each meeting was appointed, a corresponding secretary was elected, also a treasurer.
was the first chairman, Mr. Earle
, corresponding secretary, and Edward Southworth
A constitution was adopted October 26, 1889, and that evening the first number of the C. C. C. Journal
appeared, edited by A. W. Glines
This was a unique affair.
Probably copies of the Journal are still in existence among the relics of past members.
From January, 1889, to January, 1890, eighteen regular meetings were held, with an average attendance of 9.2.
The highest record of attendance belongs to the following members, in the order given: Messrs. Haven
, L. Moore
The field meeting for April 3, 1890 (Fast Day) was held at the same place as the year before, Blue Hills
, via Readville.
A visit on the pastor was made April 19.
A second outing, the first time with ladies, was on May 30; the place, Stoneham
and Bare Hill
This was a very enjoyable occasion, and it was decided to continue the