previous next


Hon. William A. Anderson, chairman of the Committee of Arrangements, had general charge of the day's proceedings, and announced the following Marshals and Assistant Marshals, all of whom were mounted and distinguished by sashes:

Chief Marshal, Lieutenant-General Wade Hampton. Marshals: General R. D. Lilley, Colonel W. T. Poague, Colonel John A. Gibson, Colonel J. D. H. Ross, Major Charles F. Jordan, Major W. Paxton, Mr. John T. Dunlop, Mr. W. F. Johnston, Mr. William M. Dunlap, Mr. Harry E. Moore, Mr. W. B. F. Leech, Mr. S. H. Letcher, Mr. J. E. McCauley, Captain J. H. H. Figgatt, Captain James Bumgardner, Captain T. C. Morton, Captain James A. Strain, Captain J. G. Updike, Captain William C. McKenny, Dr. Z. J. Walker, Captain William Wade, Captain J. P. Moore, Lieutenant J. H. B. Jones, Mr. R. T. McLeod, Captain W. F. Pierson, Captain William Bumgardner.

Chief of Assistant Marshals, Mr. E. C. Day, of Kentucky. Assistant Marshals: Mr. J. M. Becker, Pennsylvania; Mr. R. Godson, Kentucky; Mr. L. L. Campbell, Virginia; Mr. H. D. Flood, Virginia; Mr. Q. T. Bugg, Louisiana; Mr. G. O. Beirne, West Virginia; Mr. H. McCrum, Virginia.

At 9.30 o'clock the procession formed in the following order:

Chief Marshals and Aides,

Cadet Band,

Corps of Cadets,

Maryland Band,

Maryland Visitors,

Survivors of the Stonewall Brigade, under command of General Terry.

The procession reached the cemetery, filed around Jackson's grave, and thence marched to the University grounds.

Here an immense crowd had assembled in front of the large platform, which was reserved for, first, generals of the Confederate States Army and officers of the Confederate States Navy above the rank of commander; second, officers of the general Government of the Confederate States; third, the Governor of Virginia and members of the present Government; fourth, governors of any of the States of the Union and members of the Senate or House of Representatives of the United States; fifth, members of the Board of Trustees and Faculty of Washington and Lee University; sixth, members of the Board of Visitors and Faculty of the Virginia Military

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: