previous next
[390] to the service and worship of his God, may his remains be permitted to sleep until the awakening which shall clothe them in robes of immortality.

Resolved, That with the utmost deference for their feelings and wishes, we ask leave to present to Mrs. Lee and her family this expression of our anxious desire that to us and his neighbors and friends, and the authorities of his college, may be granted the favor and honor of preserving and watching his sepulchre.

Resolved, That the secretary of the meeting communicate copies of these and our former resolutions to Mrs. Lee.

Thus was originated the movement which has so happily resulted in suitably decorating the grave of Lee.

The ‘Lee Memorial Association’ was formally organized October 24th, 1870, with the following officers:

PresidentGeneral John C. Breckinridge, of Kentucky.

Vice-PresidentsGeneral J. E. Johnston, General J. A. Early, and Colonel W. H. Taylor, of Virginia; General G. T. Beauregard, Louisiana; General D. H. Hill, North Carolina; General Wade Hampton, South Carolina; General J. B. Gordon, Georgia; General W. J. Hardee, Alabama; General S. D. Lee, Mississippi; General R. S. Ewell, Tennessee; General J. B. Hood, Texas; General I. R. Trimble, Maryland; General J. S. Marmaduke, Missouri; General William Preston, Kentucky; General Tappan, Arkansas.

Treasurer—C. M. Figgatt, Bank of Lexington. SecretaryColonel C. A. Davidson, of Lexington, Virginia.

The Association was incorporated by act of Assembly, January 14, 1871, and organized under its charter February 7, 1871.

The Executive Committee (to the Lexington members, of which is due the credit for the earnest work and wise management which have resulted so satisfactorily) was composed of the following members:

General W. N. Pendleton, chairman, Colonel F. W. M. Holliday, Colonel C. S. Venable, Colonel J. W. Massie (deceased—in his place Colonel Bolivar Christian, May 31, 1873), Colonel Charles A. Davidson (deceased—in his place A. T. Barclay, Esq., June 22, 1882), Judge William McLaughlin, Major J. B. Dorman, Colonel William Allan, Colonel William Preston Johnston, Captain J. C. Boude, Professor J. J. White, Captain A. Graham, General William Terry, Hon. W. A. Anderson, Captain Walter Bowie, General John Echols, Colonel T. S. Flournoy, Rev. J. William Jones, D. D., Colonel J. K. Edmundson.

When the great Lee Memorial meeting was held in Richmond,

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Dates (automatically extracted)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: