previous next

[341] the little girls, representing the thirteen Confederates States and Maryland. They wore badges of white with lettering of red, designating the States they typified. The little misses who wore these significant ribbons across their breasts were Katie Redford, Georgia; Lillian Meanley, Louisiana; Kate Hutcheson, North Carolina; Katie Chenault, Missouri; Rosa Franklin, Alabama; Sallie Redford, Tennessee; Ruth Cunningham, Maryland; Annie Paul, Arkansas; Katie Whitlock, Virginia; Viola Diacont, Mississippi; Virginia Wright, Florida; Bessie Diacont, Kentucky; Blanche Meanley, South Carolina; and Katie Schmidt, Texas.

These were followed closely by not less than 2,000 girls and boys—a regiment of each—adorned with Confederate colors, and many of whom assisted in drawing the figure for the monument from the depot to Libby Hill. In this contingent of juveniles were the boys from the Masonic Orphan Asylum, those from the Richmond Orphan Asylum, the lads from the Young Men's Christian Association, and an organization known to itself as the Sheep Hill Ruffle-necks. Every child carried a flag or a banner, and the scene created by the contingent of young America as they marched through the streets to martial music and inspiring drum-tap, was indeed picturesque and impressive. They were commanded by Mr. D. Smith Redford, who had as his staff Messrs. Gibbs, Jones, Winfree, Chesley, Crump, Byrne, Wren, Batkins, Phillips and Deane.

Next in line were the cadets of the Virginia Military Institute, 18o strong, commanded by Colonel Charles R. Marshall, a man of wide military experience. A more magnificent specimen of youthful soldiery has never been seen here than this corps appeared as it drew up into line just to the right of Chief-Marshal Fitz Lee and his staff. They marched as an escort to General Lee, and they were the cynosure of all eyes. The lads from the Institute were clad in full-dress uniform, consisting of blue cap, gray spike coat, and white duck trousers. The four companies were officered in part as follows:

Company A—Captain H. A. Wise; Lieutenants, Charles Kilburn and M. S. Dickerson.

Company D—Captain H. E. Biscoe; Lieutenants, C. B. Coffeen and H. A. Reynolds.

Company B—Captain C. D. Langhorne; Lieutenants, P. St. George Cocke and H. E. Henderson.

Company C—Captain Douglas Smith; Lieutenants, H. E. Hyatt and William Bryant.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: