Wood's dam and the mill beyond the Mystic.
In the summer of 1870, the writer, then a new-comer to Medford
, first heard mention of the destruction of Wood
's dam, which was situated below the island, a few rods down-stream from Wear bridge.
His informant was a reputable citizen, evidently in little sympathy with the doings, as he remarked that ‘some young fellows, who hadn't anything to do but row pleasure boats,’ were the destroyers, and added, ‘there was some poetry (?) in the papers about it.’
As the incident created considerable excitement at the time, and as public opinion was somewhat divided in relation to it, the present account is written.
There had been at that locality a small mill, operated by the receding tide, from a time almost immemorial.
Rev. Charles Brooks
, in writing the history of Medford
, published in 1855, said, ‘There was a mill a short distance below Wear Bridge, but who built it, or how long it stood, we have not been able to discover.’
Evidently the historian considered that the mill and its necessary dam were not then of any recent construction.
From his writing, inference might be had, that the whole was of a time long past, like those he had before mentioned, but for the succeeding sentence, ‘The place is now occupied,’ though omitting to say how, or by whom.
was then sixty years of age, a native of Medford
(his birthplace within a mile of Wear bridge), and his history shows that he had a close acquaintance with all parts of the town.
Again, he did not mistake this spot for the site of the Broughton mill
, half a mile down-stream, as he mentioned that also.
A well-known citizen informs us that at his coming to West Cambridge
), in 1856, the Wood mill
was in operation.
Mr. George Y. Wellington
, who in his boyhood attended Mr. John Angier
's school in Medford