Our frontispiece, taken in 1881, shows the old railway station at the street crossing, and the rear end of Mystic Hall, with its studio annex and conical sky-light.
The dwellings of the agent and flagman were removed to Canal street crossing, the latter becoming that of ‘Faithful Mike’ Griffin
The belfry and clock tell of the Congregational Church, where is now the fire station.
The new station of stone is a substantial one, but not in use when the view was taken.
Its floor was lower
than the tracks, and the octagonal tower, with bell-shaped roof, was an afterthought, added to relieve the somewhat squat appearance.
Later, a locomotive vane was placed on it. This building is the subject of a booklet, A Novel Cabinet
, giving a geological list of its stones.
The buildings across High street were moved from Holton street in 1877, enlarged, and made into stores and tenements, one always a pharmacy, the other till recently a market.
Note the cross-over and siding tracks and the old switch target, the freight room and annex of early days.
These were removed across the tracks, made into a store (now and for years a laundry). Into it Mr. Willey
moved the post office in July, 1870.
succeeded him in both positions and there set up a periodical and notion store in a little room made between the waitingrooms.
A view of that, by artist Hans Schroff
In a few years was needed the Hall schoolhouse
on Harvard avenue and Sharon street, an excellent one, built by Dea
. James Pierce
Misses Ellen Lane and Ella Alden
One of the best, it was the least time used of any, sold, and taken down.
It was used in building a new house in the corner.
In the left-hand corner the Editor
last winter erected a unique bungalow.
From it we send out this issue of the Regis-Ter, and begin our eighteenth year of service.