previous next


Messrs. John H. Hopkins, John C. Wood son and Charles Grattan were elected to the Legislature. For the Ordinance of Secession, 3,010; against it, 22. For the amendment of the Constitution, 2,736; against it, 37. For the Board of Public Works--Broun, 1,489; Holladay, 326.


For ratification of the Ordinance of Secession, 1,728; against it, 1: For the amendment of the Constitution, 1,712; against it, 12. For Board of Public Works--Broun, 768; Holladay, 546. Samuel McD. Reid and Francis T. Anderson elected to the Legislature.


For ratification of the Ordinance of Secession, 1,395; against it, none. For the amendment of the Constitution, 1,391; against it, 3. For the House of Delegates--Montague, no opposition, 1,269. As large a vote as ever was taken in the county.


For Senate — Bruce, 830. House of Delegates--Bouldin, 421; McGehee, 407. For ratification, 883. For amendment to Constitution, 642; against it, 187. No votes against the Ordinance of Secession. Wood Bouldin was not a candidate, but is elected notwithstanding, by 14 majority.


Clarksville gave 231 for ratification, and none against. For amendment, 94; against it, 78. For Senate — Charles Bruce, 203. For HouseBaskerville, 116; Earley, 68; Hutcherson, 23.


The vote for secession will not be less than 1,250; against it, 2. Dr. Quesenberry is elected to the Senate, and Douglas H. Gordon to the House of Delegates.


There were only 4 votes in the county against secession. Dr. Daniel, for the House of Delegates, is reported to have 300 majority over Col. E. T. Tayloe.

King Gforge.

Col. E. T. Tavice is reported to have received 200 majority over Dr. Daniel for the Legislature, but Dr. D.'s majority in Stafford elected him.


Two precincts — Jamaica and Saluda — give, For ratification 262; against 2. For amendment, a large majority. Evans, for House has all the votes at Jamaica, and Holladay the same for Public Works.

The official vote of the whole county has been received. It stands for ratification 491, against it, 2.


Senate — B. H. Nash, 400. House of Delegates--R. Dabney, 328, C. D. Coleman, 73. For Secession, 448; against it none. For the amendment to the Constitution, 267; against it, 125. Majority for amendment, 142.


For House of Delegates--Thos. H. Flood, 391; John R. McDearmon, 277. F.'s majority, 114. For Secession, 805; against, none. For amendment to Constitution, 510; against, 152.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide People (automatically extracted)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: