previous next


For secession, 656; against it, 1. Hon. Willoughby Newton was elected to the House of Delegates without opposition.


For secession, 360; against it, 13. Colonel Lockridge was elected to the House of Delegates.


For secession, 768; against it, 538. Senate — Armstrong, 771; Parsons, 47; Carokaddan, 346. House of Delegates--Charles Williams, (no opposition,) 781.


For secession, 433; against it, none. For amendment, 236; against it, 103. For Senate Jos. F. Harvey, (no opposition,) 382. House of Delegates--A. L. Carter, (no opposition,) 388. Board of Public Works--Alex. Holladay, 84; T. L. Broun, 75.


For secession, 1,421; against it, none; for amendment, 894; against it, 393. Senate — Nash, (no opposition,) 1,148. House of Delegates--Friend, (no opposition,) 1,164.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Places (automatically extracted)

View a map of the most frequently mentioned places in this document.

Sort places alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a place to search for it in this document.
Chesterfield (Virginia, United States) (1)
hide People (automatically extracted)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: